¡Feliz Año Nuevo!

I’m back and it’s never too late to wish you all a Happy New Year I hope.  It’s been exactly a month since my last post!

Some of you may wonder why I’ve taken a break.  Those of you that know me well either through the blog or personally know will know already.  I was wondering if I needed to explain to my general reading public and having pondered it decided that maybe my last few weeks will help people to understand what can happen when there is an emergency on the home front; meaning in your country of choice and where you have left kith and kin.

It all started out with needing a bit of break and trying to get some things done around the house without distractions.  At the time I felt pulled in many different directions and thought that I needed a little “nesting” time; and let’s face it the Christmas Season is a perfect time for taking a rest.  Especially in Panama when the dry winds begin to blow in and one realizes that there are all sorts of things that need cleaning now that the mold and mildew has (miracle of miracles) seemingly ceased to grow and washing the dust out of the curtains may not necessarily be a bad thing.  SU also was planning to do several things around house and at the neighbour’s house, putting some plants in before the rains totally “went the way of the Dodo” and sealing floors and such, life was busy enough.  And then we got the call.  SU’s dad was ill.

Needless to say we booked SU a couple of plane tickets, washed up his winter clothes and had him packed and ready to go within a day.  With it being such short notice, and flight costs being what they are around the holiday season anyway, we decided I would only go if things really took a turn for the worse.  Luckily the father in law is in treatment and things seem to be turning around for him health-wise.

In retrospect spending the holidays without SU was little lonely but we’re fortunate to have great friends in our new Home.  It also helps to approach a crisis as an adventure and learning experience.  I am independent enough to be comfortable on my own but I also didn’t broadcast to everyone that I met that SU was away.  If someone asked where SU was I told them, but I didn’t offer the information all over town.  I enjoyed a few days of solitude, most days Dusty would check in via instant message on SKYPE to make sure I hadn’t been kidnapped by coyotes in the night, and I had other friends who made sure that I was kept entertained or that texted me to say hello.  I also SKYPED pretty much every day with SU while he was in Canada, we fell into a pattern of checking in every morning for updates.  I know he wasn’t comfortable with leaving me on my own, even though he knows I’m fully capable of looking after myself.  “Being alone in a foreign country is totally different that being alone in Canada,” says He.

I started to thinking again about the things that were important to us when we chose a place to live.  High up on the list was good weather and some nice beaches.  I think we’ve pretty much ticked the boxes on those things.  SU however was lucky enough to go back to Canada to three feet of snow and -20 and below temperatures most days.  Apparently the novelty of snow wears off after the first day back in the dead of winter.

Some other things that were important were easy access to transportation.  SU took the new Air Panama flight from Pedasi to Panama and flew out the next morning to Alberta.  To quote; “That’s really the way to go!”  We also had a friend offer to drive him to the bus or all the way to Panama if need be.  Like I said, great friends.

We have an emergency fund set aside if we needed to make a trip such as this;  in part from being able to keep our living expenses low enough.  Even though the cost of the short notice trip was enough to have sent us both back to Canada if we were to pre book.

I’ve mentioned that I was independent enough to stay alone.  I’m not in the middle of nowhere, but this is also one of the reasons that we chose to live in town close to services and other people.  We were really lucky to have friends step forward to brainstorm with me and offer to help if I also had to leave.  Again, great friends.

I succeeded in getting a few things done around the house while SU was gone but it’s nice to have him home again.  Thanks to all that sent emails, fed and watered me and invited me to tag along with them on expeditions.  Gracias a todos!  You’re the best.

Some pictures of our little town from the air.  Home Sweet Home!

DSCF0026 DSCF0027 DSCF0028

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ¡Feliz Año Nuevo!

  1. Thanks so much for the update, I , for one am very glad to know that everthing is okay. Seeing your post in my email this morning I said, “Oh, she’s back!” with a smile. Cheers! Holly

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias! Interesting to note that the blog got several new followers even with me being off for a month. Maybe I should keep my mouth shut more often! LOL!

  2. shellmcc1106 says:

    Glad to hear everything is well with you and the SU’s father is on the mend. Welcome Back! I was happy to see a post from you this morning. Shelly

  3. Frances says:

    Welcome back. I am glad all is ok now. I missed your posts.

  4. danjan66 says:

    I am so happy to see you are back and that everything is turning out OK. D and I have decided to settle into Coronado for now and will be uprooting in April. We can’t wait!! So much to do still and so little time 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      Wow, didn’t know Coronado was on your radar. You must be buried in snow! April can’t come too soon. 🙂

      • danjan66 says:

        Lol – It wasn’t initially but we like the location and proximity to all amenities so thought it would be a good place to start out ….. and it has been so cold and lots of snow again this year (as I am sure you know) ….. so if this miserable cold and snow has done anything for us, it has at least made it much easier for us to leave and affirm that we are on the right path!

  5. It’s good to have you back and I’m happy to hear that SU’s father is doing better.

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias, it actually feels kind of good to be back with some positivity flowing forth. 🙂

  6. cindy knoke says:

    y prospera tan bien!

  7. What good news that SU’s father is doing better, and I’m happy to hear your man is back home.

  8. Allison says:

    I always find January to be the best month for relaxing and recuperating, but then it can even a bit stir crazy since we stay so busy the two months prior it’s hard to relax and just rest! I am glad you had a chance to just turn it all off and that SU’s father is doing better! Missed you 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

