TED Talk Thursday ~ Nature’s Garbage Collectors

Vulture 

I had walked since dawn and lay down to rest on a bare hillside
Above the ocean. I saw through half-shut eyelids a vulture wheeling
high up in heaven,
And presently it passed again, but lower and nearer, its orbit
narrowing,
I understood then That I was under inspection. I lay death-still and heard the flight-
feathers
Whistle above me and make their circle and come nearer.
I could see the naked red head between the great wings
Bear downward staring. I said, ‘My dear bird, we are wasting time
here.
These old bones will still work; they are not for you.’ But how
beautiful
he looked, gliding down
On those great sails; how beautiful he looked, veering away in the
sea-light
over the precipice. I tell you solemnly
That I was sorry to have disappointed him. To be eaten by that beak
and
become part of him, to share those wings and those eyes–
What a sublime end of one’s body, what an enskyment; what a life
after death. 

~ Robinson Jeffers ~

Even though Vultures aren’t the prettiest birds in the sky I find them fascinating.   We have two type in our area, the Black Headed Vulture and the Turkey Vulture.  We have several Black Headed Vultures that nest and hang out in the back campo and on a clear, blue sky day they soar gracefully (like the poem says, gliding) over the fields and in the sky.

I found this TED Talk about Vultures and although discusses the importance of the African birds it shows how important Vultures are to the ecosystem.  Maybe after you watch this you’ll change your mind about this somewhat ugly bird and understand why I find them so fascinating and yes, even beautiful.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, The Mine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TED Talk Thursday ~ Nature’s Garbage Collectors

  1. c.c.cappon says:

    if it’s true, it’s good. but don’t they spread diseases also?

I'd love to hear from you!

