TED Talk Thursday 17/10/2013

This week’s Ted Talk Thursday is by Austin Kleon.  Actually this talk is from a TEDx event, one that planned and coordinated independently.  At TEDx events, a screening of TED Talks videos, or live presenters and TED Talks videos triggers the discussion.  Sometimes presenters whose talks taped at TEDx events make over to the regular TED Talk website.

This presentation stems from another book I read the last weekend.  It’s a quick little read titled “Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative”.  The author is Austin Kleon the presenter in this video.  Austin’s bio lists him as “a writer who draws”.  He’s currently working on his third book titled “Show Your Work!”  a book about how to share your creativity with the world.  His first book “Newspaper Blackout” is a collection of poetry he wrote by blacking out words from the newspaper.  The book I just finished reading “Steal Like an Artist” is based on a talk he gave to college students and a list of 10 things he wished he’d been told when he was starting out:

  1. Steal like an artist;
  2. Don’t wait until you know who you are to get started;
  3. Write the book you want to read;
  4. Use your hands;
  5. Side projects and hobbies are important;
  6. The secret: do good work and share it with people;
  7. Geography is no longer our master;
  8. Be nice. (The world is a small town.);
  9. Be boring. (It’s the only way to get work done.); and
  10. Creativity is subtraction.

Part of the reason I read this book is because I wanted to explore my creative side further.  Those that know me well know that a) I have an abysmal singing voice, b) my toile painting skills are pretty much nonexistent and c) my drawing skills consist of making stick men and flower doodles.  In other words the artistic gene skipped a generation, from my father to Daughter #1.

I originally began reading thinking that perhaps I could find some inspiration in the “art” department.  What I came away with is something else entirely.  I found out that I am a pretty creative person just in a different way and that I don’t have to be good at everything, I just have to put the effort in.

I also learned three other things:

  • I shouldn’t question myself when reblogging someone else’s posts.  Reblogging is flattery;
  • I shouldn’t be indignant when I see someone post a blog with a similar idea without giving me credit.  I should feel flattered that I was the inspiration; and
  • I shouldn’t be afraid to try something new even if it turns out crap.

Without further ado, here is Austin’s talk.  Maybe he’ll inspire you to do something creative this week:

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TED Talk Thursday 17/10/2013

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Interesting topic. I’m not creative at all, but the idea of stealing ideas is great!

  2. Interesting… thanks for another good TED talk.
    I think a lot of creativity is just doing it, and the more time you spend the better you get.

I'd love to hear from you!

