TED Talk Thursday

I know a few of you land on this blog looking for information about Panama.  I’ll reiterate once again that this blog originally started out as a way to put all my stories in one place so that I didn’t have to repeat them over and over in emails to friends and family back home.  Yes, I do belong to ExPat blog sites, but when I look at my statistics and see where my readers come from, it’s not these sites that are driving traffic here. 

I’ve contemplated beginning another blog to express my personal thoughts and to talk about life but I have trouble enough keeping up with this blog and have decided that I wouldn’t be able to do two blogs justice.  I’ve decided that yes, what I have to say about my thoughts and feelings during this phase that I have begun to call Chapter 2.5 of my life is relevant to those who are contemplating retirement, are retired, and yes, thinking of retiring outside of your own country.   Hopefully, as ever-changing beings there comes a time to reflect on how we can make the most of life and make it the best we can.  I’ve discovered that the last two years of not working, slowing down and digging deep within myself that I have evolved into an almost entirely different person than I was even as little as five years ago.  And yes, I think I can say that even within the last year and a half I’ve had a little shift of perspective.

I’ve ruminated the last few days over some emails I’ve recently received from a dear friend at home.  She’s struggling a bit now and is trying to find where the path will lead her.  I don’t want to be the friend that says; “There, there it will get better.”  I’ve left being indignant and spitting anger behind me when it comes to these things and that was a hard lesson won.  I can’t offer her an easy solution; I believe that the answer to her problems has to come within her.  What I can offer is an ear, albeit by email to listen to what she has to say and make a few suggestions on what she can do to help herself feel better.

The last cycle of our 30 Day Challenge that our little group here is doing is finished for this round.  Yesterday was a new day, where we were to begin on our next challenges.  We haven’t had a “formal” closing where we discuss how we did on the last challenge and what our next challenges will be. I do have to say that it’s amazing how a change that I thought would have a time limit becomes part of my life.  I’ll write about this more in a later post.

I’ve decided to start blogging on Thursdays about inspirational TED Talks that I’ve found.  I’ve posted TED Talks before but I’ve decided that perhaps I should start exploring the site a little further because there are so many amazing, inspirational videos.  Today, I bring you Brené Brown who is a professor at the University of Houston and researches vulnerability, courage, authenticity, and shame.  I’m currently half way through her book titled “The Gifts of Imperfection”.  In this talk she shares how she began her year-long journey of discovering that she was “enough” and how to live wholeheartedly and honestly.  Oprah is even offering a six-week eCourse for those who want to continue the journey and explore their creative side.

I’ll leave you with the video and a quote from Brené:

“The two most powerful words when we’re in struggle: me too.”

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TED Talk Thursday

  1. Deborah says:

    Thank you so much for posting this! I’m struggling with some major issues in my life and this was exactly what I needed to hear, when I needed to hear it. Also, I just started reading your blog and am really enjoying it 😎

    • indacampo says:

      Well welcome newbie and thank you so much for following my blatherings!

      Like I always say we’re all a work in progress and I’m so glad that you were able to get something from this post. 🙂

  2. This is another excellent TED talk!
    I think, first, it’s your blog and you write whatever you wish. Second, I really enjoy your thoughts and talks about life. There are a number of places to read about Panama, but only this place to hear from YOU.
    You also find some excellent TED talks and I’m really glad you share them. There are a lot of us adjusting to retirement, wanting to use this time productively, wanted to grow and improves ourselves, so this does relate not only to Panama, not only to retirement, but to anyone who wants to think about who they are and where they are going.

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias! I’ll try and do my best to find interesting topics to continue the evolution of Chapter 2.5 and beyond. Even though I don’t have much access to “formal” education as I did during Chapter 2, there are some amazing resources out there. Like you I’m so happy that I have the time to explore them. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

