Dirty Windows

I learned as a young mother that sometimes housework just had to wait while I tended to the needs of my children.  Now that my children are grown I’ve kind of kept the lackadaisical attitude about housekeeping.  Some days or even for full weeks I turn into a whirling dervish and spend all my time tackling dirt around the house.  Lately, the heat and humidity of the last few days make me lazy about tackling the “heavy lifting” around the house.  Simple chores such as laundry get done, dishes washed, bed made, the floors get cleaned and the furniture gets dusted.   The rest of it will all wait for another, cooler day.

Yesterday, before I left for a day of errands in Chitre with my Aussie amiga I noticed the sun coming through the back door was lighting on a spider web on the outside glass.  I didn’t see a spider, but I didn’t have the heart to clean the web off.  The light on the fine threads was so pretty.

Spider Web

Today I was wondering if the web had made it through another night.  Sure enough it is still there, and so is its creator.

Spider

The new occupant on our door is the same color as the wood and quite small but it seems to be serving a purpose.  Some of the tiniest bugs that manage to make it through the  fine mesh of the screen at night are caught in the web.  And who are we to deny this hard-working little spider a night of fine dining in the campo?  At least until the urge to clean strikes me again.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dirty Windows

  1. Funny, I just wrote a blog post on spider webs, too!

    • indacampo says:

      We have so many webs, large and small around here right now. I don’t remember seeing as many this time last year. And the creatures in them vary in size and color also. It’s difficult not to notice the beauty isn’t it? 🙂

  2. We have a tiny spider on our desk lamp and I leave it alone too. The web gets tattered in a day or two so it’s always building new ones, and then we have another beautiful web to enjoy for a while.

I'd love to hear from you!

