This is Chapter 2.5, The Numbers

Many of our friends here are around the same age as us or slightly older or slightly younger.  A few have started businesses, a few work for others, and a few have found a blissful balance of doing something they really love that brings in a little income.

It’s definitely easier for working people than non-working people to offer a suitable answer when asked, “What do you do all day?”   Those that work for pay can say well, “I work for so and so doing…”, or “I have a business that ….”  For us most days it’s, “Oh a little this and a little that.”  Which doesn’t really describe what we do all day but then the question arises, “If we’re not sure what we do all day then why do the days go so fast?”

To help document where the days have gone I’ve created a list of what we’ve been doing both collectively and separately.   For study purposes I’ve combined the hours to avoid making the list hugemongous* I’ve counted combined hours spent on the activity for most days except where noted.  It is as follows:

Sleeping –   112

Hammock Laying – includes sleeping, reading and non-sleeping hours SU only** – 9

Reading – 42

Cleaning – including laundry – 20

Laboring – including projects and yard work – 82

Listening to music/radio – 100

Eating – 210

Exercising – including bike riding, walking and “formal” exercising (me only) – 15

Beer drinking/relaxing with  a beverage, conversing with others and  ourselves – 30

Conversing with others without beer – mostly short conversations on the street – 10

Television Watching – mostly at night – 21

Cooking, baking or barbecuing – active time – mostly me, but I don’t usually barbecue – 10

Using the computer – including blogging and emailing – mostly me – 7

Using the computer – research, news reading and including prepping for English teaching – mostly me while SU is watching t.v. – 7

Driving places – including being a passenger – 6 (yes that’s combined for this week, including a trip to Venao for both of us and a trip to Las Tablas for me)

By my calculation the total is 679 hours for both of us.  There would only be a total of 336 hours in the week for both of us.   Things like listening to the radio are done at the same time as other tasks are being completed.  The labor portion balances out between SU and I because he’s taken over most of the heavy stuff outside while I’ve concentrated on keeping the dust and dirt out of the house, although we both do work inside and outside.

So, when people ask, “What do you do all day?” there it is.  How could life be boring in the campo when there is so much to do?

* hugemongous is a term used to describe gigantico, grande, extremely large…

** SU has been using my hammock as his finally fell apart beyond repair and went to Hammock Heaven, hammock time can also be included in reading hours

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is Chapter 2.5, The Numbers

  1. danjan66 says:

    Kudos to you both! I get asked that question a lot from people too when I tell them about our plans to move to Panama – Your weekly schedule looks a lot like what we expect our to be 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      LOL! And I didn’t include español and studying because we’ve been off this month while the school is closed. That takes a little time. 🙂

  2. Kris says:

    Interesting! I should do this too. Maybe it will help me with time management because for the life of me, I can’t figure out why I can’t get things done when I have nothing to do 😀

    • indacampo says:

      LOL! I just did a rough calculation. Some days I spend a lot of the day cooking or baking (like yesterday I was figuring out how to make Naan bread), and other days I have to force myself to “chill”. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

