Is This Supposed to Be Act 3?

I need to retire from retirement.  ~ Sandra Day O’Connor ~

On August 29 of 2012 I began posting on this blog regularly.  I’ve posted 384 times, well 385 if you count this one during that period.  I took time off of blogging over Christmas last year when The in Laws were here, and I’ve taken a day off here and there, but otherwise I’ve kept at it pretty steadily.   Some days the words flow easily, other days it’s more of a struggle.  I call it a brain fart.  Oh, I know life isn’t scintillating and exciting every day in fact, life is just pretty darn routine.  Not routine like the old routine but a different routine.  It’s not glamorous, or full of high drama, or newsworthy every day.  But why I might miss a day or two isn’t because I don’t have anything to say.  I always have something to talk about; it’s usually because I’m just too darned busy with living life and other things to unscramble my noggin.

Recently our home town newspaper ran a series on the “Millennials”  .  Depending on which definition you look at Millennials are defined as being born between 1980 and 2003 or ­­­1982 to 1994.  Either way our children fall into that category.  I have to say that the articles here, here and here did help me to understand the culture and what our children face in today’s society a little more.  Those that were born after the Second World War when modern technology began to develop in earnest and the population began to increase exponentially with prosperity from the years 1946 and 1964 fall into the Baby Boomer   category.  SU and I are on the tail end of the “Baby Boomer” generation, not old enough to receive Canada Pension yet and we should probably still in the workforce.  Do I miss the stimulation of “Work”?  Hmmm, not really.

Once a person reaches a “certain age” and retires, you’re considered in the third part of your life, some call it the Third Chapter, some call it the Third Act and some call it the Third Life.  If you hold the belief that life itself is divided into thirds; Childhood, Adulthood and the Twilight Years, then I guess whatever name you give it the Twilight Years are the Third Act of life.  But the Third Act has a kind of finality about it.  What if life is meant to be broken into four parts for some people?  Was the concept of life being divided into thirds conceived when life spans were much shorter?  Or is there a 2.5 somewhere in there?  For now, I feel too young to be in the Third Act of life.  And tomorrow, I’ll catch up on what we’ve been doing over the last few days in the campo.

TED Talks are about sharing ideas.  Whether you agree with this speaker or not, whether you are in your third act or not,  I’ll ask you to listen to the idea behind the talk.  There may be something that you can take with you, you never know.

Related Articles:
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is This Supposed to Be Act 3?

  1. Kris says:

    Thank you so much for posting that TED talks!! I loved it, and what good things to think about. I too am working on sorting myself out in this new life, and thinking about how to best spend this time. I’m going to report it in my blog too, because so many of our readers are at a similar place in their lives as well.

    • indacampo says:

      I don’t think that we ever have to worry about being bored. There’s always something if you’re willing to get up off your butt and do it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Third Act of Life | The Panama Adventure

  3. Frances says:

    Great post! I definitely agree with you that there is another Act, a 4th Act at the very least.

    I oversaw my parents’ care until they passed away after a wonderful life of service. My dad was 98 and my mom 97. They both had active retirements with travel and other ways of contributing to society…their 3rd Act. They were certainly not bored! I think their 4th act began in their 90s when they began to need help with basic needs, needing someone to prepare their food, monitor meds, mobility, etc.

    I think the important thing is tending the mind, body and spirit. This blog (and Kris’s as well) leads me to believe you are tending all three and have another Act to look forward to.

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias, and thank you for reading.

      I agree with the “Fourth Act” theory. People live much longer now if they take after themselves and the Maker willing. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

