New Challenges…Bring Them On

A new 30 Day Challenge is on the horizon.

For my last challenge I chose to:

  1. Go through Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred;
  2. Drink a gigantic glass of water every day as soon as I got out of bed in the morning; and
  3. Greet the day positively every morning by reading the little prayer that I posted after the beach walk when I saw the whales for the first time this season.

I welcome this new day.  
It is a gift to me, a new creation, a promise of resurrection.
Greetings to the Four Realms, the Goddesses and Gods, and the Kindred of Yore.
I salute the Sun, the Earth, the Seas, and the Sky.
I am thankful for being alive this morning.  
Thankful for the sleep that has refreshed me.
May my hands do the good work.
May my eyes see the truth.
May I speak compassionately.
May I make the world a better place this day.
Amen.
~ Ceisiwr Serith ~

 

Tomorrow after yoga we’ll discuss how we felt we did and put our new intentions out into the world.  How did I do?

Well, the prayer was easy to do.  I wrote it in my journal and simply opened the book every morning before I even planted my feet on the floor.  It took all of a minute of my time to start my day with a positive intention, even with wet cat nose in my face.  Check, check!

Drinking the water was very simple also.  Going through the morning routine and pouring a big glass of ice water from the refrigerator was simple.  Some days I had two and sometimes, with my thirst quenched from the water I forgot about having a coffee while I read through my emails and the posts from my fellow bloggers.  Check, check!

The 30 Day Shred was a little more challenging.  I did keep up with it, even getting to the second level.  Each level contains only 20 minutes of exercise but it is intense exercise. After the first week of the second level, my Periformis Syndrome an old running injury, flared up.   I’ve been able to continue with my yoga two or three times a week but Jillian has gone back into the CD case for a week or two while I rest my lower back and butt and wait for my sciatic nerve to quit vibrating.  I’ve stretched, using the foam roller and yoga block and taken advantage of the percussion massager we brought with us.  (Thank goodness for the percussion massager because SU has also been suffering with a chronic injury in his arm and chest area this week.)  So I am unable to completely check off Jillian.  Hopefully with a few more days rest, stretching and yoga I’ll be feeling up to taking a go at it again.  It is disappointing but I’m only down, not out.

One of the things I’ve learned through all my research and training about goal setting (which was sometimes necessary during my employment years for those nasty employee reviews) was about making any goal SMART.  For those unfamiliar with what a SMART goal is it should be:

Specific – The goal should be stated as simply as possible.  My specific goal was to try and improve my outlook for the day, get in better shape, and increase my water intake.  Trying to accomplish more that those three in 30 days would have been too much.

Measurable – A measurable goal has an end result.   Do you want the final assessment to be rated on a scale of 1 to 10 or success or failure?  For me my goals weren’t completed 100% but, I don’t feel like they were a total fail.  My mind was willing but my body wasn’t.  And I was doing really well up until then.

Achievable – An achievable goal has a result that is realistic given the situation, resources and time available. I deliberately chose things that I knew I could make time to do.  Small changes, and surprisingly I’ve found that the small changes are helping to build bigger ones.  I’ve even found that I’m riding my bike more and making better food choices.

Relevant – A relevant goal should help to achieve bigger objectives.  Mine is to live a healthier lifestyle and stay in shape without the need for the gym that I had at home.  And yes, to lose a few extra pounds that middle age seems to bring on.

Time-sensitive – A time-sensitive goal sets a time frame of what to achieve the goal.  In our case of course, it’s 30 days to complete the challenge set for yourself.  Surprisingly, we’ve already discussed that some of the changes that we’ve made in the 30 days or the things that we’ve tried; we’ll continue to do in the future.  And if it’s something that slides again, there’s no harm in resetting the intention of the goal for a future challenge.

One of the things I did before we began our first challenge was to write a random list of things that I’d like to try to do.  I’m now up to 35 on my list and I will add to it intermittently.  Recently I also took a “Rate My Life” quiz on Survey Monkey.  I never thought I’d be taking a Survey Monkey quiz for fun, after having to complete so many during my working life, but, it is reaffirming to know that life is pretty good and that I rate on the high scale compared to the average person.

Some of the recommendations from my quiz are:

  1. Your life score is reasonably high. This means that you are on a good path. Continue doing what is working and set about to improve in areas which continue to lag;
  2. Your mind score is within a healthy zone. This means you have achieved a level of mental balance and harmony consistent with living a healthy, happy life. Continue doing what works, and keep your focus;
  3. You have an excellent body score, which means you are incredibly focused on maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Continue in that focus, and your body will stay healthy and strong;
  4. Spirituality is clearly important to do. Never let it slip, and continue to learn and grow;
  5. You have a social network you can depend upon;
  6. Your love score is in good shape, meaning that things are going well; and
  7. You have a rather good financial score, which is not all that common these days.

It was surprising to see how I scored in some areas.  Especially when it comes to the body score and even finance because I’m dependent on SU for our day to day expenses.  I think sometimes my perception is that anything less than a 9 or 10 on the scale isn’t acceptable.  It’s interesting to see how I compare to the average person.  For those of you considering joining the challenge or forming your own group and uncertain of where to start a quiz such as this one or similar to it may help you find a starting point.

Now, I’m off to look at my list.  I have to figure out what my next goal is going to be, other than revisiting Jillian.  Because, taking the time to set a small intention or goal and have a support group around you is what we need to shake things up.  Even when you’re not living in the campo.

This is my real score, if you’d like to take the survey click on the link at the bottom.  And remember, take some time for reflection, don’t be afraid of the answers.  If you’d like to share some of your results, come back and leave a comment!

This Is My Life, Rated
Life: 7.9
Mind: 7.3
Body: 8.4
Spirit: 7.2
Friends/Family: 7.5
Love: 7.3
Finance: 6.9
Take the Rate My Life Quiz
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Challenges…Bring Them On

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Sorry to hear you reactivated an old injury. I also hurt myself with the Jillian Michalels yoga workout.
    http://flexitariancouple.com/2012/01/29/my-back-injury-from-jillian-michaels-yoga-meltdown/
    I’ve talked to a number of people who have had flare ups with old injuries or new ones from her workouts. Never again!

  2. indacampo says:

    Thank you for sharing. I think that the same move is what brought my injury “back”…LOL! In the 30 Day, the second level has the knee to the chest “core” portion. I may have done it too quickly methinks. Anyway, I’m feeling much better, I rode my bike and did a good yoga workout this morning with barely a twinge except on some of the more challenging twists. 🙂 Friday I had to skip a whole section of poses, poco a poco.

  3. Kris says:

    I have been thinking about this since you mentioned it a while back. Can I join your challenge?

    I took the quiz and was glad that I also scored well, but there are things I would like to improve too. I also looked at the statistics by age group and noticed that the over 50 group scores the worst in most areas, and not very much better even in their better areas. That’s kind of sad. I thought these years were our best, our rewards for all the years of work, living, and learning. Apparently it isn’t so for many.

    I was thinking I need the challenge to study some Spanish every day. I like your morning prayer very much, and am giving some thought to a similar thing for myself.

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, I think that if we aren’t constantly trying to grow and learn new things or keep our brains active then we just get in a rut. One of the reasons that I always tried to learn at least one new thing a year. 🙂

      How much time will you study Spanish for? I really have to get on it too, sadly I have not been studying much and our school is closed this month. Working with the little ones has helped though.

      I’m continuing the prayer in a different way and my Mom is participating along with me. Taking a little time to reflect every day also keeps us out of a rut. :O

      • Kris says:

        I would like to study for at least an hour a day. I don’t have so much trouble with time once I open the book. It’s getting started every day that is a challenge since I can always put other things in front of it.
        It’s the same with the spiritual thought and study, always easy to do the dishes or talk with the neighbors or do a dozen things in front of it, and the next thing you know it’s the end of another day so it’s put off until tomorrow.
        That’s why I thought your 30 day challenge is a great idea. If you have to explain to someone else what you did (or didn’t do) it keeps you on track more. So, if you’ll have me in your challenge I’ll try to be good 😀

      • indacampo says:

        Ok, will check back at our two week meeting mark! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

