Pelicans (No, They Don’t Play Basketball)

The Pelican
 
A wonderful bird is the pelican,
His bill will hold more than his belican.
He can take in his beak
Food enough for a week,
But I’m damned if I see how the helican.
 
~ Ogden Nash ~

I love it when the Brown Pelicans fly overhead whenever I go to the beach.  To me, this signifies typical beach living.

Brown Pelicans are very large and glide low over the water, keeping rhythm with the waves, or soar high in V-formations.  These large birds have long bills and large throat pouches for catching fish.

They look beautiful when they are soaring in formation and we’ll often see them fishing, diving from the air for their catch.

2 3 4 5 1

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pelicans (No, They Don’t Play Basketball)

  1. Great pictures. I love watching pelicans fishing. Never managed to get a pic of them flying – always end up with a blurred dot!
    Thank you.

  2. Kris says:

    Wow, you have a lot of pelicans. We had them in Florida and I loved to see them, but I don’t think we had quite the crowds flying in formation like in your photos.

I'd love to hear from you!

