Half Way Through

chal·lenge [chal-inj] noun, verb, chal·lenged, chal·leng·ing, adjective

  1. a call or summons to engage in any contest, as of skill, strength, etc.
  2. something that by its nature or character serves as a call to battle, contest, special effort, etc.: Space exploration offers a challenge to humankind.
  3. a call to fight, as a battle, a duel, etc.
  4. a demand to explain, justify, etc.: a challenge to the treasurer to itemize expenditures.
  5. difficulty in a job or undertaking that is stimulating to one engaged in it.

I mentioned briefly in a previous post that I was taking part in a 30 Day Challenge. There are a group of six of us taking part in the challenge inspired in part by a TED Talk one of my friends viewed.

http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/

The challenge is designed as a personal challenge, not necessarily something physical, but something meaningful to the individual.  Most of us chose two things to challenge ourselves for thirty days.  Some of us chose something to stop doing instead of start and a few chose one thing artistic and one thing physical.

This week we met at the beach with some beverages in hand for our amiga’s birthday and to do a half point check in on our progress.  Once settled in full view of the crashing waves, we reminded each other what our challenges were, reported on how we were feeling about our progress, and chatted about some of the difficulties we are encountering.

DSCF6591

We decided as a group to continue with new challenges every month and two other women asked if they could join us in the next challenge period.  I have an evolving list that has 32 personal challenge ideas (so far) and it is continuing to grow.   I’ve always thought that learning something new helps me to constantly evolve.  And having the support of a group of positive, supportive gals makes it easier to evolve a little more in the campo.

For some more inspiration…

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Half Way Through

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    I love 30 day challenges. I’ve done a few in the past and you have now inspired me to start a new one. Thanks!!

  2. What a great group of Amiga’s you have there in the campo! You got me thinkin’…What would I challenge my self to accomplish? Hmmmmm?

  3. Kris says:

    I love this! I already have something going on here. they feed you too much on a cruise, ya know. I could study Spanish every day, I mean actually get out the book, or write, or work on photography… There are a lot of things I could do! Thanks for the inspiration, and that fabulous video of the guy who got back on his feet.

    • indacampo says:

      Wow! I guess you had a lot of reading to catch up on. 🙂

      The whales here are also Humpbacks and we have some Bottlenose and Spotted Dolphins. They come up from the cold waters when it’s Winter there to mate and they stay about five months. Although August and September seem to be the best time to see them here.

      There are a few people that are inspired by the challenge! We’re beginning a new one in another week or so if you’d like to join us. Or Holly mentioned that she’d like to start something so maybe you can form you’re own group. 🙂

      Yes, the handstand guy was quite inspiring! I happened upon it when I was looking for something else. One of mi amigas is working on a handstand for her challenge and she was getting a little frustrated at her progress so I thought the video was quite appropriate. 🙂

      • Kris says:

        I sure did have a lot of catching up to do! I missed you and it was good to see what you have been up to.
        The Panama whales are from the south, where it’s winter now? The naturalist on the boat told us they also go to Hawaii in Feb/Mar to mate and that is when they sing. I wonder if the whales here are also singing if it is their mating time?
        I’ll have to talk with Holly about the challenge. Maybe we can be virtual members of your group 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

