On Being a Subject Specific Wordsmith

I consider myself someone who is still relatively new* to putting my writing “out there” for public consumption.  I don’t often think of “audience” when I blog.  I write about what burbles forth from my brain at that particular time and place without really thinking much about it.  My writing is  often about something that’s occurred in my life and that life is in Panama now.  Sometimes my blog expands on something that I’ve read about, or is inspired by a quote or the definition of a word I like.  And sometimes there really isn’t much writing; it’s just video or an image with a few words.

While at a social gathering a few days ago, I had the pleasure of meeting some people who were new to me.  One man, shortly after meeting me, asked if I was “In Da Campo”.  It’s interesting to me, if not a little odd to meet people who read The Blog.  Which in and of itself is an odd statement given that most of my friends and relatives both here and elsewhere know that The Blog exists.   It is flattering to hear that someone, a stranger, has read The Blog and to actually meet them in the flesh and to hear what they think about my writing.  I am not immune to suggestions or critique.  Happily in this case there wasn’t very much other than I posted often and that the length of each post in general is in a readable format.   To that I say, gracias.  He also ask how did I arrived at the name of The Blog?  Well, “In” is pretty self explanatory, I used “Da” instead of the correct “The” and “Campo” means “countryside”.  And we live in the countryside of Panama.

When I’m writing I struggle with questions about how much to show of my private life.  I’ve had people tell me that I need to post more pictures of SU and I, but those who know me, know that getting my photo taken is among one of my least favorite things to do.  For now, the people who are familiar with our little community and the goings on can take a guess who most of the characters are.  For others, names aren’t important, in fact they are confusing, but there will always be a few who will want more detail.

I don’t aspire to writing a “How To” or a “Guide to Retirement in Panama”.  There are enough good writers out there to fill the libraries and e readers of those who need such resources.  I admire people who choose to take on the task, but my life is pretty full with the day-to-day goings on.   I want to keep journaling, hopefully providing little nuggets of useful information or insights into our somewhat normal life.  I have a variety of interests and I enjoy being an observer.  And isn’t that what writing is all about?  Seeing or hearing something and then telling the story …

* August 29th will be the one year anniversary of this blog.  Actually, it was created in May of 2010 but nothing was actually written on it until August of last year. 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Being a Subject Specific Wordsmith

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Keep up the great work. I love reading your thoughts! Have a fantastic day 🙂

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias. You too, it’s grey here again today. I’m not complaining, the farmers really need a good Wet Season this year. 🙂

  2. Kris says:

    I like your blog because it is you, and I enjoy seeing your world though your eyes.
    I know what you mean though. I know people read my blog but I don’t think of them as specific people, so it’s almost a surprise to meet a real person who is interested in reading what I write.

I'd love to hear from you!

