Inspiration

in·spi·ra·tion noun 

1. an inspiring or animating action or influence: I cannot write poetry without inspiration.

2. something inspired, as an idea.

3. a result of inspired activity.

4. a thing or person that inspires.

5. Theology .

a. a divine influence directly and immediately exerted upon the mind or soul.

b. the divine quality of the writings or words of a person so influenced.

This was a morning when I awoke on my own with no gato noses in my face or gato bodies draped across mine.  It was a morning where I had the luxury of looking out the window to see if it was light enough to actually be called morning and not night and to greet the day on my own terms.  It was a morning when I awoke and welcomed the day and began to think about inspiration before I had fed the cats, had my first cup of coffee or opened up my computer.  And it was a morning when I looked at the sky thinking it looked a little different from normal with streaks of the sun trying to come out from behind the gray clouds.

After a few minutes I fed the cats, grabbed my first cup of copy and opened the computer.   Normally, if he can get away with it, SU will grab a few extra minutes of shut-eye.  I have a routine while I’m having my coffee.  I start with my email where I read whatever emails I’ve received and I see all the notifications and comments that are generated by WordPress from the blog.  And a big thanks to you all that read and comment.

When I’ve finished cleaning up my emails I go on to Facebook.  My Facebook community is quite small, consisting mostly of family and a few friends.  When I opened my Facebook page this morning I saw that Sister in Law 2 (SIL2*) had posted some beautiful photos of her family’s recent camping vacation.  And in between those photos were a few landscape shots.  She commented that one in particular was her favorite.  I agreed, it was inspiring to me and so I announced that I was grabbing it from FB.

And so today my inspiration comes not from an inspiring person, activity, idea or the divine but from an action; the action of SIL2 taking a photograph.  The photograph is of a simple boat on a lakeshore in the waving grass.  I’ve manipulated the lighting and edited it from the original and I think it’s come out pretty good.

Boat 1 Boat Only Rocks Only

Thank you SIL2 for the inspiration.

When the mind is thinking it is talking to itself. ~ Plato ~ 

* SIL1 is SU’s sister, as she’s been my Sister in Law the longest, SIL2 is my youngest brother’s spouse, and SIL3 is my middle brother’s spouse.
About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiration

  1. Lee-Ann says:

    Karen, I absolutely love what you did to the photo. Thank you for letting it be your insiration of the day

    • indacampo says:

      ¡Gracias cuñada para proporcionar la fotografía para trabajar de!

      Thanks sister in law for providing the photograph to work from! 🙂 It’s a beautiful capture.

  2. It’s inspiring what you say about inspiration ; ) .

I'd love to hear from you!

