There May be Silence

Sound (noun)

  • the sensation produced by stimulation of the organs of hearing by vibrations transmitted through the air or other medium.
  • mechanical vibrations transmitted through an elastic medium, traveling in air at a speed of about 1087 feet (331 meters) per second at sea level.
  • the particular auditory effect produced by a given cause: the sound of music.
  • a noise, vocal utterance, musical tone, or the like: the sounds from the next room.

 Most of us know that the sounds we hear are caused by vibrating objects that reach our ears, the harder the vibration the louder the sound is.  And for those of you that didn’t know that was just another piece of information pulled from my “things that aren’t really connected to anything informational stuff packed into my brain”. 

The other day at yoga our teacher asked us what our favorite sound was.  She started at one end of the room and worked her way around.  The first answer was; “Birds.”  Doh, that’s what I was going to say!  But as she worked her way farther down the row I was in I quickly thought about what my favorite sound is.  And I thought; “My favorite sound is really no sound at all.”   

Now, I know that it’s not really a sound and it is an impossibility to have no sound at all unless you live in a vacuüm.  What I really meant was that I enjoy just listening to the world around me without anything artificial interfering.  This sometimes causes Spousal Unit to get irritated with me because he enjoys having the radio or television going during all his waking hours.  We are on opposing ends of the need for sound.   

I’ve often thought that my hearing was overly sensitive but in my case I don’t think that it could be described that way in medical terms.  I think my brain just really doesn’t require the stimulation that sound brings to it.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy having the radio on while driving, I like watching television and I like listening to a band play.  I just don’t need background noise all the time.  And I don’t like loud noises.  Which is really quite humorous as I live in the “Land of Loud”; loud people, loud fireworks and loud music.   

Silence is something that is precious and probably one of the reasons that living in the country suits me; because despite the noisy times in the burg, it is  a lot quieter than living in any city in the world.   I need to start practicing silence a little more in my daily life.  Now if I could only get SU to agree with me, life would be so much better in the campo. 

Desiderata ~ Max Ehrmann (1927)

Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story. Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter; for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans. Keep interested in your career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time. Exercise caution in your business affairs; for the world is full of trickery. But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals; and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself. Especially, do not feign affection. Neither be critical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth. Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be, and whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be careful. Strive to be happy.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There May be Silence

  1. Allison says:

    I have an advantage to lack of sound due to some hearing loss 🙂 BUT I will miss a lot when it comes to hearing the birds sing crisp and clear in Panama. Although Ray tells me some birds will keep him awake in the morning–I think I will appreciate my quiet mornings! Perhaps when in Panama, I will check out the cost of a tiny hearing aid so I can hear what all of you are hearing!?

    • indacampo says:

      As I was writing I was remembering my grandfather who wore hearing aids most of his life. He used to turn them off when he wanted to block things, including my grandmother out. When I was young my father had an operation on his ears to restore his hearing, he had to have a small bone shaved down. I realize I’m fortunate that I have great hearing and can hear those small sounds. 🙂

  2. Kris says:

    I like the birds and sounds of the neighborhood. That’s different from radio and TV that want you to listen to them. I think even when you don’t actively listen it gets through, and it isn’t always stuff you need in your head. I feel like it just clutters my brain when it’s there as background but I can’t focus on it.
    Joel wears hearing aids. He doesn’t hear the birds in the morning until he put them in. I do, but I’ve learned to sleep through them, especially now that we don’t have the hummingbird feeders outside the bedroom window. We had a whole flock of LMBP fighting for the title at 6:30 AM, and that had to stop! LOL

  3. Allison says:

    The last I researched, no operation possible for me, but a hearing aid would do the trick. I tried one once when younger and a classmate took it home to show his family (Obviously, I didn’t wear it haha and would leave it in the box in school–back when they wrapped around the back of the ears and were U.G.L.Y.) The next one I tried after college made everything TOO LOUD! I hadn’t learned the art of tuning sounds out, so I could HEAR EVERYTHING ALL AT ONCE. Didn’t give it enough of a chance, I’m sure. Perhaps third time would be the charm? When in Panama, anything goes!

I'd love to hear from you!

