Wings of Butterflies

FROM THE CHRYSALIS

My cocoon tightens, colors tease,
I’m feeling for the air;
A dim capacity for wings
Degrades the dress I wear.

A power of butterfly must be
The aptitude to fly,
Meadows of majesty concedes
And easy sweeps of sky.

So I must baffle at the hint
And cipher at the sign,
And make much blunder, if at last
I take the clew divine.

~ Emily Dickinson ~ 

A butterfly’s lifespan is very short but it depends on the size of the butterfly, the species, where it lives, and what time of year it became an adult.   There is an average life span of a butterfly – it is usually about one month but the larger ones can live up to eight months.  I love the days after a rain, it brings out all the birds and butterflies.  In an attempt to capture some butterfly beauty I spent some time yesterday with these magnificent little creatures whirring about my head in the front garden.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I don’t want to give any of these beauties a specific name; there are so many intricacies to identifying them that I would probably get it wrong.  If you’re interested in trying to figure out what type of butterflies they are this website has some great information.   

On the left side of the page go to galleries, next page you can click on common name, the different types are listed in six galleries across the top of the next page, and if you click on thumbnails you’ll see some beautiful butterfly pictures.   

You might also find this interesting: http://panamaqmagazine.com/butterflies.html

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wings of Butterflies

  1. Kris says:

    Wow, so many beautiful photos there!

I'd love to hear from you!

