Is There a Plan?

To be a blogger and to actually write things that other people would like to read one must also be a reader of books, newspapers and yes other people’s blogs.  I enjoy subscribing to a few blogs and lurking around others.  I have made a few blogging friends and other bloggers or readers have found me, either in the quest for information about Panama or because they like a picture that I took.

I’ve mentioned in earlier posts that one of the blogs I follow consistently and read with my morning coffee is Pam Klainer’s Day.  I found Pam’s blog at the beginning of my own blogging experience while I was Googling for some information about Panama fiesta’s. Pam often blogs about things that make me go; “Hmmm.”  Recently I had another hmmm moment while reading.  The blog post was about getting back to writing her memoirs after a brief break; but it was also about so much more.

The main questions that Pam posed in her post were: If any of you believe that God has a plan for your life, is that some sort of a metaphor? Or do you think it’s the literal truth?

A while ago I was with a group of women that were discussing Eckart Tolle’s “The Power of Now”.  I’d read the book many years ago and had recently took up reading it again.  To me it’s not a book that you can sit and read in one sitting.  It’s something to read slowly as you ponder the questions posed throughout.  Many of you will be familiar with the book that was first published in 1997 and took a blast into the stratosphere of publishing in 2002, once Oprah discovered it. For those of you unfamiliar with the book, to me, it is about changing the way that we think about ourselves and those around us, finding peace and happiness within ourselves and in essence having the power to choose how to live our lives; in pain and sorrow or joy.

When I read Pam’s blog post it seemed to me that something was conspiring to have me take a step back and explore the questions further.  Was it coincidental that the conversation had begun a few days earlier?  One, I might add, not started by me but by another person.  Was someone or something trying to whisper in my ear that it was time to take a look at myself and look at the world around me?

I decided instead of trying to write a short reply that these questions needed further exploration on my part.  Not just from my perspective but perhaps by some of the people who are a part of my life.

The first thing I learned was that I should never try to predict why other people might say or think; and so, even if I was to learn nothing more from this exercise that is a big lesson.  The second thing I learned is that I have been fortunate to surround myself with some very articulate, thoughtful people.  The third thing I learned is that those people have surprisingly similar although not identical thoughts on life and how it plays out.

And what are my answers to the questions that Pam posed?   I’ve always believed that we control our destiny and that we are born of free will, which is a term that I use to express choice; but I also have a faith that we are where we are by predetermination and that there is a Grand Plan.

I believe the people who we meet come into our lives for a reason to teach us a little about ourselves or to bring us joy.  I believe that we choose a career or a specific job for a reason, either because we have been blessed with a talent for it or to expand our horizons. I believe that we live where we live for a reason and to take a step outside the comfort of where we are born is a good thing but not necessary for everyone.

When I was much younger I thought that I was the luckiest person on earth, everything always seemed to turn out well for me.  Now, many years later through some good experiences and not so good experiences, the essence of my belief is that certain critical crossroads are inevitable in life; but in the end we are left with the responsibility of our choice of action, reaction, or inaction.  The one common thread through the good and bad times has been the people that have surrounded me and supported me.  This goes back to my belief that everyone is in my life for a reason, a type of preordination.

In keeping with the theme of today’s post I’m going to leave you with a song that will always have a place on my IPod.  Ray LaMontagne, the singer/songwriter would probably have a thing to say about God’s Plan.  I’ve included the lyrics because they really resonate with me and they are one of the reasons I find the song so beautiful.  I hope you all have a lovely weekend.

Be Here Now ~ Ray LaMontagne

 Don’t let your mind get weary

And confused your will be still, don’t try

Don’t let your heart get heavy

Child, inside you there’s a strength that lies

Don’t let your soul get lonely

Child, it’s only time, it will go by

Don’t look for love in faces, places

It’s in you that’s where you’ll find kindness

Be here now, be here now

Be, be here now, be here now

Don’t lose your faith in me

And I will try not to lose faith in you

Don’t put your trust in walls

‘Cause walls will only crush you when they fall

Be, be here now, be here now

Be, be here now, be here now

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, The Mine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is There a Plan?

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    What a beautiful song, thanks for sharing. It is on my youtube playlist now.

    • indacampo says:

      It is beautiful isn’t it? I first heard him sing it on Saturday Night Live a few years ago. I never watch Saturday Night Live…preordination?

  2. Thanks for starting my day with something so meaningful to ponder.

  3. Kris says:

    That is a beautiful song.
    As for the plan? I don’t think so, but the world goes far beyond my little brain’s ability to understand it. So, I just keep keeping on, and try to be happy, kind, and positive.

    • indacampo says:

      Mine too but sometimes my brain works in mysterious ways and I just start pondering… 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

