The Peaceful Companionship of Dos Gatos

I couldn’t sleep last night and so I was on the prowl at about 2:45, yes, in the a.m.  Most of my awakenings occur at this time and rather than toss and turn last night I decided to get up and have a drink of water and read.

My late night lurking doesn’t happen often by it does disturb Dos Gatos.  Last night when I awoke Boomer was sleeping on top of the pantry and Bandit was in his usual night-time spot on the bed in the spare bedroom.  This way they have the high ground covered and the front of the house is protected.  When Bandit heard me walking around he ambled out, did the downward dog stretch, gave a big yawn and looked at me as if to say; “What the heck?”

I roamed into the spare bedroom to take a look out the window and Bandit hopped on the headboard to take a look too; soon we were joined by Boomer.  I then meandered to the back door with my entourage to look out the window there.  For a while the three of us watched the sheet lightning over the ocean and the fireflies in the back campo.

I took some water out of the fridge and settled myself on the couch.  Bandit perched himself on the shelf under the television where he could see me and Boomer snuggled in beside me.  After a short time they realized that I didn’t need protecting and they curled up together on the chair.

All was quiet in the early morning of the campo.  The only sounds were the fan in the bedroom and the occasional bark of a dog in the distance.  Even the frogs and toads were at rest.  Before long I was sleepy enough to go back to bed.

Dos Gatos did a patrol before Bandit returned to his bed in the spare room.  Boomer crawled into bed with me for a snuggle and for some assurance that everything was all right before he too, wandered back to his own bed to prepare for the 5:45 wake up call.  The night is not so long with the companionship of Dos Gatos and the calm peaceful beauty of el pueblo; in the campo.

Rainy day resting spot.

Rainy day resting spot.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in The Gatos Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Peaceful Companionship of Dos Gatos

  1. Frances says:

    Awwww. That was a lovely tribute to Dos Gatos.

  2. Your cats remind me of the poem Skimbleshanks: the Railway Cat…by TS Elliot……’he establishes control by a regular patrol, and he’d know at once if anything occurred’. love this post today!

    • indacampo says:

      That is definitely Dos Gatos. We call them our patrol kitties. They have quite a few personality traits of dogs. Maybe it’s because we spend so much time with them.

      Gracias! And thanks for reading!

I'd love to hear from you!

