Shaking Things Up ~ Spa Day

I know, I’ve talked about my hair before and how I don’t wear makeup very often if at all blah, blah, blah; but there is something to having a Girl’s Spa Day that is delightful.

One of our amiga’s; she of the beautiful house with the stunning view, recently finished esthetician  and hair dressing training and kindly offered to host a spa day for a few of us.   And living out in the campo where these kinds of services are few and far between a group of us jumped at the chance.

The day began with a quick stop at the local tienda for some champagne and juice to make Mimosa’s.  After a quick drive to the casa de amiga we had a lesson in how to make some of our own natural beauty products that will help create and support a glowing complexion.  I know it all sounds so girly but it really was fun to hear how much our friend has learned about natural beauty products and how bad some of the elements in commercial products are.   It’s not always possible to eliminate some ingredients entirely but it was also good to find out that there are alternatives that work as well, or better than some of the more chemically laden cleansers and cosmetics.   The other nice thing is that we can make each item as we need them with just a few components that are readily available.  One example is one of my friend’s experiments with cold pressing coconut oil.  Her first attempt wasn’t too successful but I’m looking forward to hearing how the second attempt works.  She thinks refrigeration is the key as the first try spoiled.  With an abundance of coconuts around here it’s something that I’d like to try.

Once our demonstration of how to make the concoctions of facial scrub, toner, mask, and body scrub was completed we proceeded downstairs to use the products.  After neglecting my skin for so long it was wonderful to give myself a little pampering and have some fun with mi amiga’s at the same time.  I loved everything, especially the body scrub.

1

Yummy enough to eat!

After having a few nibbles it was declared that I must have a haircut.  I bet I’ve had my hair cut hundreds of time in my lifetime but to this day I’m always a little afraid when I sit in the chair.  Hence the reason that I have used scissors on my own since we’ve moved to Panama.  But there comes a time when a girl has chopped away so much that there isn’t any kind of style left and the ends are so frayed that an intervention is required.

Those of us of a certain age will remember the iconic look of Farrah Fawcett.  I grew up in that age and I can remember all my straight hair friends, no matter what their hair color, that were able to emulate that free-flowing long hairstyle, feathered, flippy, floppy and bouncy.  Not me.  I had the bushy, just came out of the jungle look going and I’ve had many disastrous haircuts.  At the time I thought that I was the only teenager on the planet with curly hair.  Unbeknownst to me there were girls out there spending way more time taming their tresses than I wanted to devote to mine.  Rolling my hair around empty frozen orange juice cans was about as inventive as I got.  It’s difficult to picture that one isn’t it?  And all the while I should have been happy that I didn’t live in North Korea and only have a choice of cut dictated to me by the state: http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/north-koreas-28-approved-haircuts-1735221

Happily there are now products that help to tame the frizz and flatten hair.  Now that I am comfortable and familiar with what my hair will do and not do, I’ve become attached to my tresses.  If you would have asked me between the years of 12 to 18 about my hair I would have gladly traded it for someone’s, anyone else’s hair that was long and lovely and flowing.  Oh, wait a minute there was that incident in my early 20’s when I tried to perm it into submission; big mistake.

I kept my hair very short for many years when my children were young.  It was just easier for me as a busy mom with three young children and their respective hairdo’s to worry about.  Not too many years ago I stopped using a blow dryer and flat-iron and had my hair cut into a shape that would work with my curls and be wash and wear.  Consequently I do not own any hair appliances.  There are no curling irons, hot curlers, blow dryers or styling brushes in la casa.  I do still use a few products of course; an olive oil shampoo and conditioners, a light spray gel, and a bit of silicone product with some argan oil in it, a tin of spray mousse (used infrequently) and some paste that is supposed to give me hair like a surfer.  Or maybe I read the label wrong and it is supposed to give me hair like a surfer’s mother.

This could almost be Paradise!

This could almost be Paradise!

And so, I sat in the chair and came out with a cute little cut.  Just a few inches off to take the dead ends off and layered a bit.  Mi amiga found out quickly that it’s quite useless trying to keep the frizz out of my hair on a humid day but it was cute all the same.  The “fresh out of the chair” look actually fared better after I had slept on it and flattened the frizz out of it.  Now it’s just a cute little curly bob with just the right amount of hair taken off that’s still long enough to put in a ponytail.

The chair.

The chair.

I’ve pondered getting all my hair cut off but SU lives in horror at the thought that one day I’ll come home with a buzz cut.  For now, I love my new do, and I’m happy I didn’t resort to a boyish cut, even though it would so much easier to look after.  My hair is what I would call medium care now.  Not quite wash and wear but better than half way down my back floppiness.

And what was the added bonus of Spa Day?  Another lovely day spent enjoying the company of some wonderful women that help make it abundantly pleasant to live in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shaking Things Up ~ Spa Day

  1. shellmcc1106 says:

    Sounds like a fun day! You need to give us a pic of your new do.

  2. Kris says:

    Yep, gotta see the new hair. Maybe you can talk the SU into snapping a pic. 😉
    I imagine a lot of folks would be interested to know how to make your own products too.

    • indacampo says:

      Ha! I should get a picture done first thing in the morning when I look like Krusty the Klown! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

