Expecting and Left Turn Week and Finding a Few Right Turns on the Way

You will come to a place where the streets are not marked.
Some windows are lighted. But mostly they’re darked.
A place you could sprain both your elbow and chin!
Do you dare to stay out? Do you dare to go in?
How much can you lose? How much can you win?

And IF you go in, should you turn left or right…
or right-and-three-quarters? Or, maybe, not quite?
Or go around back and sneak in from behind?
Simple it’s not, I’m afraid you will find,
for a mind-maker-upper to make up his mind.

~ Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Places You’ll Go! ~

Theodor Seuss Geisel aka Dr. Seuss is one of my favorite authors.  When my children were young we had the complete set of his books and to this day when I am seeking words of wisdom I frequently turn to Dr. Seuss.

The quote above reminds me of the kind of week it’s been here.  A little busy, a few left turns with some right turns mixed in. I’ve still managed to find the joy in the left turn right turn week and here are some of the highlights:

Left turn – Tuesday was a left turn day because we went for a drive down the coast to our Aussie friends house.  Here’s a photo:

Butterflies

The multitude of butterflies flitting about the garden in front of the outdoor living area was amazing.  Unfortunately I only had my little point and shoot camera with me so the photos aren’t spectacular.  Apparently these beautiful creatures start to come out after the first rains.

Right turn – We haven’t had any rain to speak of here so we don’t have very many butterflies in our garden yet.  The main topic of conversation in el pueblo is usually about the weather.  There has been a little moisture further down the coast and throughout the rest of the country but we are in a weather bubble here.  The poor vacas continue to congregate outside our fence most nights sniffing around for something green to eat.

Right turn/left turn – Wednesday we went to Chitré.  A good day spent away from the pueblo but of course a trip to Chitré means more money than usual spent.  SU did sneak a bottle of flavored creamer into the shopping cart.  It’s amazing how something so simple can bring a little happiness into my life.  Flavored creamer as a treat in my coffee in the morning, it’s a good left turn thing.

Left turn – Our Aussie friends took a left turn on our calle and brought the carpenter that works for them over to take a look at our window screens.  The screens were in dire need of replacement.  Whoot, whoot!  As I write this SU and Miguel are changing all of our screens out to something more of Norte Americano quality.  Actual screens in frames that can be taken off.  The screen is more gato resistant, the new frames look very nice and we are very grateful for the help.

Right turn – Oh yes, getting tagged by the scorpion on Thursday.   Fortunately it was also a left turn because I was able to nap off the Benadryl I took.  It could have ended up much worse if I’d had a bad reaction.

Left turn – Dusty came for a short visit on Friday afternoon.  SU was doing some yard work so we had a little “girl time” to catch up.  It was a right turn for SU when he went to bed that night and found the bag of rocks that he’d stashed in her purse under the bottom sheet on his side of the bed.  I think I see a right turn coming on for Dusty!

Right turn – Our water pump stopped working on Thursday evening.  It had made funny noises for a while and it finally gave up.  Friday morning SU took a couple of pictures of the old pump and took off to Chitre to get a new one.  When he described what the noise was like that it was making it was confirmed that it was terminado.  An expense we weren’t expecting.  On a left turn note he did manage to get everything done using his Spanish skills.  I went to our español clase on my own and enjoyed a lovely morning with our maestra just talking and practicing my skills.  SU was back by lunch time.  On another right turn note we haven’t had the pump installed yet so we are still using town water pressure but it is good first thing in the morning and later in the evening.  I don’t miss the noise of the pump but we do miss the water pressure.

Right turn that was a left turn – There was a fiesta on Friday night in the pueblo.  I left my camera at home for the evening so no pictures.  We had a very good time at the fiesta which was a really good mix of Panameños and Norte Americanos.  It was a lovely evening of tipico music, tipico food, dancing and good company.  The evening was mild with a beautiful soft breeze and once again a stunning moon that was brilliant beyond belief.  Thank you to our generous hosts for a lovely evening.

True left turn – Yesterday SU had to pick up Miguel so on the way he dropped me off at Dusty’s for the day.  We had a lovely girl’s day floating in the pool and yakkity yakking all day.  It was also a very good day for bird watching.  Next time I’ll have to take my book with me so we can name more of the birds that are returning.  Pequeño right turn – I did get a little burned from being in the sunshine so long.

Another true left turn today – More screens being installed and the guys were able to catch the baby iguana that’s been hanging around.  Miguel was kind enough to hold it for me so we could get a good shot of his face and then he carried it to the front garden for us so Dos Gatos would not get it:

Baby Iguana Baby Iguana 2

Left turn day for el Bandito – He caught a lizard in el jardin and although he doesn’t like to eat them it does bring him some fun.  After a while both the lizard and Bandito tire of the game and I remove the poor creature to the front garden.  The lizard is tailless for a while and Bandito is tuckered out from running around in the hot afternoon sun.  Here he is resting after the game:

IMG_3229

Reflecting on the week it’s been pretty busy with all those left turns and right turns.  Life can’t always be full of left turns and it is how you take the right turns that make the difference.  This week I see the gratitude in good friends to hang out with and that are there to lend a hand when you need them.  It’s all this that makes life good in the campo.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Expecting and Left Turn Week and Finding a Few Right Turns on the Way

  1. Love that Dr. Seuss poem! Definitely not just for kids…

    • indacampo says:

      No, I believe he wrote it for graduates. I remember borrowing it from the library many moons ago, it remains very relevant. 🙂

  2. flexcouple says:

    Love the symbolism of your week!

  3. Loca Gringa says:

    Now I know why I keep going in circles, seem to miss the right turns … all kidding aside … great article!

    • indacampo says:

      Gracias! Right turns bad, left turns good. No reason not to try and keep looking for the left turns!

  4. Thanks for the poem ….it’s been a right turn weekend for me 😦

  5. Pingback: Grocery Day in the Campo ~ Some of Our Expenses | In Da Campo

I'd love to hear from you!

