Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood ~ Pedasi, Los Santos, Panama

I live in Panama and don’t need or desire to have a smart phone so I was happy to see that we were able to use our regular camera to complete the challenge.

I have previously posted many pictures of my neighborhood and town and so was pondering what I could do that would be different.  A thank you goes out to Vecino who reminded me of a Facebook photo that I shared from one of the townsfolk.

There has been an ongoing debate as to where the original photo was taken.  In the end the majority of those weighing in agreed that it was likely take on Calle Principal or as we would say in English, Main Street.

Here is our main street circa 1950:

1ThenPhoto credit: Libia Vera (who I am sure took it from one of her relatives)

And our main street circa 2013:

Pedasi - Calle Principa

Pedasi – Calle Principal

I’ve been told that electricity came to the region in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s and there are still several places in our area that don’t have electricity.  We still get horses riding through our town and occasionally they are tied up outside the houses but Calle Principal is too busy for this now.  They keep to the side streets.  This is life in the campo.

dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/my-neighborhood

 

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood ~ Pedasi, Los Santos, Panama

  1. allig565 says:

    Wow! Such progress lol Love seeing Main Streets survive the mayhem! Great idea to use this for the photo challenge (or thanks also to Vecino).

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, the old photo was kind of cool that’s why I shared on FB and challenged all my Norte Americano friends and family to notice what might be a little different from a typical street scene of the time. No electrical wires.

  2. Loca Gringa says:

    WOW!!! Pavement … lines … and a crosswalk too! Here in DR of course, all those are only suggestions 🙂

    Great pics!

    • indacampo says:

      Yes, we are somewhat civilized here. Not that the crosswalk is ever obeyed. Vehicles have the right of way here unlike in Canada!

      • Loca Gringa says:

        Well, frankly, only stupid people think, whether there are laws or not, that they have the right of way. I’m not going head on with a car lol 🙂

        Look both ways, even if it’s a one way street 🙂

  3. Pingback: Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood | Flickr Comments

I'd love to hear from you!

