Here’s a Challenge! Looking for Photos!

Yesterday we needed to renew our driver’s licenses.  If you read the post Hola! ¡ El uso de mi sombrero de Panamá!, you will recall that this was the second go round for us.  Luckily we were in and out in 15 minutes.  I think this was the fastest and best service we’ve ever had in a government office in Panama.  I let the supervisor know that el servicio was muy excelente, we were so pleased.

I hate having my picture taken.  And as everybody knows you must have your picture taken for your driver’s license.  I like being the one behind the camera, not in front of it.  There have been so many bad pictures of me over the years that I’d like to see destroyed.  Pictures of me always turn out horrible and so when I have to get a picture taken for a formal document I just plop down and tell the photographer to just go ahead and take the picture.  I carried around the worst picture ever for four years and it was my driver’s license.  Then again for four months I had a horrible picture, the one of me with my eyes closed, on my temporary Panameño residency card.

In Panama it seems everywhere we go people are posing for pictures.  When I say people, I mean mostly young girls between the age of newborn to when they have children of their own.  Most of them try to emulate the fashion model stance and do so quite successfully.  The camera of choice is usually a cell phone and then the photos are published right away on FaceBook pages that have no security controls on them so the friends of friends of friends can link in and admire the beauty of the subject person.

When I was a teen we had the trusty Kodak Instamatic.  When the roll of 12 or 24 film was finished you’d take it to Woolco to be developed and hopefully within a week you’d have so great photos of you and your friends.  Still, there were few that I liked posing for.  The digital cameras of today are getting smaller, less expensive, and take better, clearer pictures.  Photoshop and other programs can airbrush flaws in an instant or add and subtract other subjects or objects to photos.

Unfortunately they don’t offer that airbrushed look, soft colored lights or plastic surgery at the SERTACEN office, or any other registry office that I know of.  That’s why I was pleasantly surprised to see my new photo.

SCAN0001

And then I looked at my Alberta license which may have been a previous contender for over all best photo of me.
picture of me

That led to me taking a closer look at my now permanent residence card that was issued last July.

SCAN0003

What this is leading to is that these are three pictures of me that I don’t actually mind.  And they are all in my wallet.  Are the photographers in places getting better?  Is the technology getting better?  Or have I just being vain all these years thinking that I actually looked better than what my pictures were telling me?  Am I just delusional and these are still bad pictures?

I don’t know if retirement is agreeing with me or if my attitude has changed so much about getting a picture taken.  I don’t have that “deer in the headlights” look and my eyes weren’t closed.  Here’s where this is leading.  If any of my family and friends has a really bad photo of me, send it to via email or Facebook and I’ll post it here.  Or if you think you have a really beautiful photo of me, send it on, sorry, that’s my vanity kicking in, I’ll probably hate it anyway.  I don’t care how old or new they are.  For those of you reading that have never met me or even if you do, send me a picture or link to a really bad photo of yourself, it can be your driver’s license or anything you want or your favorite photo of yourself. Don’t be shy; even the best looking people have bad days.

I’m not putting any time limits on submissions, just keep them coming in.  C’mon you know you can do it.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here’s a Challenge! Looking for Photos!

  1. Welll…. Ok, I’ll work in it! I have some doosies!

    • indacampo says:

      Gosh, I look at them on the blog and they look like prison photos! Pretty bad if these are the good ones!

  2. allig565 says:

    Great picture on your Panamanian license! And in no less than fifteen minutes at that! Oh and Happy Birthday soon!!!

    • indacampo says:

      I’m rethinking the whole picture thing. It’s just sad that these are my favorite. Sad, sad, sad.

  3. indacampo says:

    Gracias. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

