Mid February – Still Being Accountable

Hola!  I was busy with sorting through all the Carnaval goings on and not sleeping through the noise and completely forgot that I was going to do a check, check, check in about being accountable to me.

I have to admit, it’s always tough making a goal and sticking to it; especially when something is throwing me off my schedule and into sleeplessness.  I have done well with drinking my water but I still have to remind myself to grab that bottle and chug it down.  I’ve been consciously grabbing my sports bottle of water in my bag before I leave the house most days even if it is only to walk down the road.  Putting a splash of 100% fruit juice helps to keep it from getting to boring.  I really like the Ocean Spray Cranberry 100% juice; it has no sugar added but gives a nice flavor. The club soda with lots of ice and a splash of cranberry is working out well too.  If I add a little twist of lime it’s almost like having a sparkling cocktail with almost no calories.

The next thing that I tried to do is to eat more fruit and vegetables; three servings of fruit and five of vegetables.  Our fruit and vegetable bill from Gerardo is proof positive that we’ve been eating more of the good stuff and less of the bad. Another good thing is that it’s melon season here and the cantaloupe and watermelon are delicious.  The watermelons are so crisp and fresh that they snap when you cut into them.  Watermelon is full of lycopene that is important for bone and heart health.  It’s also full of water (hence the name) and helps with my fluid intake.  We’ve also been eating vegetables in different ways.  This week Gerardo brought in strawberries, avocado and grapefruit, some nice changes from the everyday stuff.  We’ve always loved roasted veggies and I’m doing up batches and adding them to our tossed salads.  The nice thing about roasting vegetable is that it brings out the natural sugars in them.  We really like beets and onions with a splash of balsamic vinegar and a little crumbled blue cheese.  The blue cheese makes it nice and creamy and adds a bit of protein.  Somehow I ended up with six pounds of red onions this week so I’ll be putting onions into everything.  Onions are a good phytonutrient and can help lower lousy cholesterol (LDL) and I’ll take all the help I can get in that department.  SU has already told me not to complain about the by-product that will likely be emanating from his orifices by eating so many onions!

The exercise front was seriously lacking last week although I did really good the week before.  So good in fact that Kathy Smith kicked my butt, literally.   I had such a good time with her Build Muscle Shrink Fat DVD that my piriformis injury flared up.  When I have a flare up I don’t always get sciatica but a couple of days later I did.  Luckily it wasn’t too severe and knowing where to put my thumb on a couple of pressure points helped me work through it and after a couple of days yoga with Rodney was on the agenda again as well as lots of walking and standing.  I also spent a day with Dusty fishing.  Dusty caught a blowfish  that started puffing up as we were trying to get the hook out of its mouth and scared the bejesus out of us.  I didn’t catch anything but it was a good time to catch up and the walk and being near the ocean was glorious.

Part of my being accountable to me plan is to try to build on my goals every couple of weeks.  My next challenge to myself is to keep track of my mental babble whether either positive or negative for the next week.  I think I’m pretty good to myself but I can be critical of others which isn’t good.  The goal isn’t to make excuses, but to journal my thoughts.  I love journaling and I’m always writing random thoughts down, but this time I’ll be writing with a specific goal in mind.  I think it’s also important to record my positive thoughts.  I think that I’ve evolved and changed in the last few years but this will be the litmus test.  I think the most difficult thing will be to not give in to negative thoughts of people around me.  Fingers crossed, I hope I have more positive entries than negative.  This goal is to help me think more positively and to change the way I see things.  I’m definitely not a Negative Nelly but I’m not Pollyanna either!  After all I live in a country that rated number one as the most positive people in the world.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Just blogging away!, Small Changes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mid February – Still Being Accountable

  1. I really appreciate hearing how you are trying to be mindful of caring for you. Im in the middle of the biggest , hardest life change I think I have ever experienced so far in my life! Its easy to let myself go and I must admit that My health is not even on my radar lately. Even m positive/negative self talk needs some serious attention at the moment. Sigh! I think I’ll focus on doing one healthy thing for me today and I thank you for the reminder , we are important and if we dont take care of ourselves who will! Cheers!

    • indacampo says:

      Hi Holly!

      Yes, it’s very easy to get sucked in to being busy and not paying attention to ourselves.  It’s also difficult not to be so judgmental about ourselves and those around us.  Put aside all the work and do something fun for yourself today!  Your house is looking mahhhvelllous but it will still be there tomorrow!

      KA 

      ________________________________

I'd love to hear from you!

