Carnaval 2013 – Day Three

And so Carnaval 2013 continues.  The floats get bigger and better each day.  Today I bring you only daytime pictures.  I was too tired to stay up to see the nighttime activities.  In fact I escaped the burg to go to Dusty’s place for some fishin’ and floatin’ con mi amiga.  Enjoy!

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Things Panameño and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Carnaval 2013 – Day Three

  1. Marissa says:

    Thank you for posting all these great pictures (and the previous days too)! My memories of carnaval in Panama however, all seem to lead back to the diablitos and the resbalosos. I don’t know if they’re still around (I’m guessing they are) and I never was in the interior during carnaval but in the city, they were everywhere. I didn’t mind the diablitos so much. They were just people and kids in elaborate costumes (devil-like) going walking around the neighborhoods and city streets, making noise and holding out a sack for coins. Much like our Halloween here I suppose. But I always thought the resbalosos were scary. They weren’t in costume, but wore shorts and were all greased up in black grease paint (hence the name resbalosos, meaning slippery ones). I was told (by an older cousin trying to scare me I suppose) that they would come after you if you didn’t give them any money. So anytime I saw them coming I would run inside and hide.

    • indacampo says:

      I know what you’re talking about I’ve seen the masks. In fact there were a few dressed up in the 2011 Desfilede Carretas but there were none for the 2012 desfile. I think I have a picture from 2011 on my still unfinished page about how we got where we are. Tonight (Tuesday) the focus is on the tuna. We’re just waiting to go out again for the final parade. I’ll be wrapping everything up with my observations in the next few days!

      ________________________________

  2. would you mind it I Reblog this post on my blog? I Just Love your pictures and would love to share them with my readers if you wouldnt mind. Holly

    • indacampo says:

      No problemo Holly! I have several more that I will post in the coming days including today (Tuesday) with the Polleras. There were three separate events today, we’re just waiting to go back out for the finale.

      ________________________________

  3. Reblogged this on Let The Adventure Begin! and commented:
    This is a Post published by one of my favorite Panama bloggers. She moved from Canada to a beautiful coastal town in Panama called Pedasi. I believe she and her husband have been living there for about a year and are truly loving the new life they are creating for themselves. I wanted to show you the beautiful pictures she took of the Carnival celebration taking place in her town. It looks so great, although maybe a bit crazy-crowded for me! Gotta love they way Latina communities embrace a celebration!

I'd love to hear from you!

