The End of January 2013 and Week One of Being Accountable

I gave up making New Year’s Resolutions years ago.  Why make one promise that I was likely not going to keep.  Besides, every year in January and February was hell time at the gym.  Those of us who went to work out faithfully would get squeezed out by the “New Year’s Resolutioners” it would be two months of frustration until everything settled back to normal again.

According to Forbes there are five common resolutions that people make every year and end up breaking almost as soon they are on paper or out of our mouths:

  1. Go on a Diet
  2. Stop Smoking
  3. Get More Exercise (Related Resolution: Join a Gym)
  4. Lose 20 Pounds
  5. Stop Biting My Nails, or Twirling My Hair, Or….

Apparently the reason that most people don’t follow through is because instead of making small changes in their lifestyle they try to change things drastically and immediately.  Instead of going on a diet they should try to start by including more fruits, vegetable and whole grains in their diet.  Quitting smoking takes a lot of will power and a multitude of lifestyle changes. Forbes says that saying you’re going to get more exercise is too vague.  It takes a commitment to find a workout buddy or make concrete plans to do something every day to make the effort.  Not attaching a number to your weight loss is important trying to lose by once again making small changes is more important than trying to do it all at once.  And number five goes hand in hand with quitting smoking.  Finding what triggers the habit is important and will tell a bit of self-evaluation.  The common thread of the follow through for these resolutions is about changing your lifestyle.

No, I don’t make resolutions.  I make myself long-term and short-term goals.  That’s really how we ended up living in a foreign country.  The goal to live somewhere warm when our children were grown was made when they were still quite young.  That was a really long-term goal.  It was reinforced again with a trip to Australia in 2005.  The plan to move once it was set in motion was roughly a two-year plan that we worked on step by step and finally realized.

Now I have a goal to treat myself a bit better.  I’m calling it Being Accountable to Me.  It had brewed in the back of my mind for a while when I realized that I wasn’t moving around as much as I should and the clothes were getting a little tighter.  It also comes with aging and a slowing metabolism.  I’ve been making small changes in the last week.  I had four “workouts”, two on the beach with SU – he doing his thing and I doing mine.  For goodness sake I can’t keep up with the man!  But by modifying what he does to my level works.  The goal is to move, not to kill myself! I also did two workouts on my own with videos, even though one day was quite frustrating because the video kept cutting out.  And I have to say that I have somewhat of a crush on Rodney Yee.  I’m so happy I have a few of his yoga videos because I’ve found them to be excellent for inflexible me.  There are yoga classes available here but phhhhffff!  I would be the dummy in the corner falling on my head.  Rodney is very patient with me and I love his a.m. yoga routine, it works out all my kinks.  I’ve met my goal of four “formal” workouts and I also moved a little more than I have been.  Check, check…it was a good week.

Another small change I made this week to treat myself better is I’ve been trying to drink more water.  I have not been bad since we moved here but I realized that some days I just don’t drink enough as I should.  Especially now that dry season is here.  I’m still losing water by sweating but I don’t notice it as much because the wind keeps me cooler.  Part of my problem is that I get bored with plain old water.  I’m trying to make up for it by diluting some fruit juice in water but I wanted something fizzy too without drinking a gallon of “CocaCola Light” which is what Diet Coke is called here. SU tracked down some club soda for me bless his heart.  It wasn’t easy to do but he found some at Libadi or “the beer store”.  And by the way club soda is more expensive than cerveza here.  But now during happy hour I’ve been having a light beer and then a fizzy drink of club soda with a splash of fruit juice and lots of ice.   I’m cutting down on beer but I still feel “festive”.

My goal this week is to count my servings of fruit and vegetables and make sure that I’m eating at least five of veggies and three of fruit.  I think that I’ve been pretty good, especially since we moved here, but I haven’t consciously thought about it.  Likely eating more fresh things will help me to avoid some of the things that aren’t so good for me to eat.    Notice I didn’t say; “I’m cutting out sweets and snack foods.” That would just be silly, especially with SuperBowl tomorrow; Vecina is making some of my favorite dips.  I’d just be setting myself up for failure.

I’ll be posting on this topic next week and giving an update.  I haven’t weighed myself, partly because we don’t have a scale and partly because for me it’s not about losing weight.   I’m not worried about fashion or being skinny to make other people happy and I’m not in a competition with other women half my age.  Been there done that. This journey is about feeling better about me and holding me accountable.  Some days I may be posting to the blog a little later; it’s all part of making sure my butt is not glued to a chair.

I really like a post from Geek Dad about resolutions.  You can click on the link and read the post if you like but this one is my favorite:

Remember that every moment is a New Year. You just have to make it happen. As my friend @charliecurve says every day, make it happen. Every day is a new day, every moment is a chance to step up and do something great. And why the hell not? Why do we place such misguided importance on a singular point in time for a catalyst for change? Any day, any moment, we can achieve or at least strive for something greater, even if it’s a greater sense of contentment. If someone as cynical as myself wakes up every morning and tells himself “today is the day” (meaning what, I do not know) then there is no reason for you to not embrace every single day as a new challenge, rather than slogging towards a particular calendar marker as an end/beginning point. So as far as I’m concerned, it’s happy new year 525,600 times a year. Unless you have a watch that counts tenths of a second.

About indacampo

You'll find me at https://indacampo.wordpress.com/ blogging about Panama...and other things.
This entry was posted in Small Changes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End of January 2013 and Week One of Being Accountable

  1. kristc99 says:

    Good for you! It sounds sensible, and I’m glad you are treating yourself well 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

